The Rubins are Taking Over Copenhagen

Image

Image

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to be graced by the presence of my amazing parents, Melba and Steve. I wasn’t surprised that their coolness helped them become a big hit amongst my friends here in Denmark. We started off their visit right with a trip to Nørrebro microbrewery (kudos for the suggestion Tara). It was great to be able to openly enjoy a beer with them thanks to the rules of wonderful Denmark.

ImageImage

Afterwards Alana, Pete, and some Elon visitors Beth and Julia crashed my parent’s hotel (with their permission of-course) for a delightful pre-game before heading out to the city. With Melba’s generous bar-tending skills, we all had a great time. So much of a good time that we later wished we stayed to hang out with the rents more instead of venturing to the bars. Either way, afterwards Melba and Steve were nice enough to let us all crash on their floor in the middle of the night. How college of them! I’m so proud.

Image

Image

Image

The next few days were filled with showing my parents around Copenhagen, “my town”. It was really fun to be able to share everything I’ve been doing in my new home here in Denmark. Besides just the touristy things, I have to say that I really enjoyed how spoiled I was in the food department. I finally could afford some sushi and dessert from the food market for once! It was a nice break from just free samples. Pete and I also had fun showing them around Christiana, a hippie commune in the middle of Copenhagen. We even tried out Christiana’s vegetarian and organic restaurant, which was a great local restaurant with delicious food and a warm cozy atmosphere!

Image

My parents were really fortunate that Tivoli, Copenhagen’s vintage amusement park, was open for Halloween. The light display was absolutely breathtaking! I’m sure that those out there who know my dad would assume that Steve was going crazy with the camera.

Image

Showing my parents around Hillerød, the small town I live in outside of Copenhagen, was probably the best part of the trip. They loved the local castle and small town feel. My mom even said she enjoyed it more than Copenhagen! We had a lot of fun strolling around the pedestrian street, touring the castle, and sharing ice cream while enjoying the views over the lake on a beautiful fall day. My parents were so lucky with the weather! I’m glad they could enjoy sunny Denmark during their stay.   

Image

Image

Image

Melba and Steve had a great time hanging out at the Folkehøjskole where I live. They were a big hit amongst both my American and European friends. (Maybe the free white Russians at dinner had something to do with it?) My parents were really impressed with my living situation, the quality of food during our group dinners, and just the general family atmosphere. Even though they miss me back at home, I could tell they were glad that I had made such great friends, as well as a comfortable second home here in Denmark. Favorite memory of that night would have to be my parents playing beer pong with everyone. Alana and Steve were the beer pong champs! To my surprise, they were actually really good! Better than me…but that’s not saying too much.

Image

Image

My parents confirmed the fact that I have successfully turned into an honorary Dane, while especially commenting on my new European attire and biking skills. We all joked about how it was easy to pick my mom out of the busy crowds of dark dressed Danes with her bright green North Face rain jacket. You can take the girl out of America, but you can’t quite take the American out of my mom!

Image

Image

Image

We had a great last night together with dinner at my visiting family’s house. Mikala cooked us a delicious traditional Danish meal. My mom kept commenting on how it reminded her of something called “fat back” that she used to eat as a kid. Oh, you gotta love Melba. I was glad my dad got some shots of me with Kayla and Silas, so I can finally show off how cute they are to everyone! I love how more at home I feel at their house after each and every visit. Just this week Mikala made me Mexican food because she knew how much I loved it! It was too incredibly sweet, and really really delicious. Silas and Kayla enjoyed it too!

Image

After an eventful visit, my parents and I unfortunately said our goodbyes. It was hard to part ways after such a fun week since we had all really missed each other. I won’t see them again until I return mid-December, so I’ll have to spend some more weeks missing them. I feel so fortunate that I was able to have my parents visit while I was abroad! I love them so much and their trip to Copenhagen was just a friendly reminder of how lucky I am to have such loving (and totally awesome and fun) parents. Big shout out to Melba and Steve, Denmark misses you!

One thought on “The Rubins are Taking Over Copenhagen

Leave a Reply

