Sun and Scooters

Image

Image

Image

After roughing it through our first overnight train to the south of France, Albecpeta got to experience something we haven’t seen in Copenhagen for ages: the sun. With current Copenhagen sunsets around 3:55 after a nice cold day, I had forgotten what it felt like to be warmed by the sun, and boy had I missed it. Seeing the Mediterranean for the first time was just as beautiful as I had imagined it. The smell of the salty beach air reminded me just how much I loved the ocean.

Image

Image

Some parts of Nice looked so similar to what I always pictured Greece to look like. The shore was filled with green sea glass. It was absolutely beautiful. After a day of wondering around the pebble beaches, ocean boulevards, and outdoor markets, we ventured to the top of Castle Hill to get better views of the town. At the top, we enjoyed the sunny day with some ice cream and a visit to the playground.

Image

Image

We definitely got in tune with the “beach mentality”, and enjoyed relaxing at our awesome hostel, which included the cutest balcony. A few naps, as well as group cuddles on all of our beds pushed together to watch movies, took place here.

Image

Albecpeta decided to treat ourselves with a nice dinner. After being told we couldn’t do our usual of splitting two expensive plates four ways, we decided to cheers to anxiety and order up. Good thing we did, the food was delicious. I especially liked how well mannered Pete agreed to order the lobster pasta in hopes that he would spontaneously start liking seafood. It didn’t work out so well for him, but at least it was a cute gesture. Thanks to Aleah, I got to learn how to crack open a lobster all on my own! In true Albecpeta fashion, we decided to spend our funds for the day on food rather than partying. Hey, you have to make scarifies somewhere.

Image

Image

We soaked up the sun during our last day in Nice with a picnic on the beach. What followed was something that will probably scare me for the rest of my life. While my Yankee friends (besides Alana…who is crazy) gallivanted in the cold waves of the November Mediterranean water, I decided to play “camera woman” in order to avoid that situation all together. However, after Pete decided to spontaneously throw me in for everyone’s amusement, I felt the shock of some of the coldest water I’ve ever felt. I had to hold on to everyone just for warmth. Even though they said this was pretty normal water to them, I’m used to scorching hot Myrtle Beach water…. and I still think they are crazy (southern beaches rule).

Image

Image

We ended our trip to Nice with some extreme sports along the coast. We started off with rollerblades, which are a lot more difficult on a busy road versus skating around at the Jellybeans skate rink. I don’t think I had touched a pair of rollerblades since 5th grade. However, with Pete’s help from past hockey experience, we all survived. I was pretty proud of my technique, and in true friend fashion I even cushioned a fall for Alana after crossing the street. After we were done with rollerblading, Pete got a skateboard, Alana got a long board, and I decided to show off my middle school scooter skills. Let me just say…I was pretty impressive.

Image

Image

After a great few days, I have to admit that Nice was probably one of my favorite stops. I hope I can go back someday.

Leave a Reply

