Cozy Christmas Sweaters

Image

Big European city, the beach, Tuscany… and now Albecpeta was off to the mountains. The Alps of Interlaken, Switzerland to be exact. I’ve never seen anything quite like it. Since we arrived at night, when we woke up in the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the breathtaking views of the mountains from our hostel room window. Our room included a bunk bed and queen size bed…, which was used for more group cuddles, and relaxation sessions while watching funny videos and movies. Now that’s what I call a vacation.

Image

Image

Image

The cozy small town of Interlaken was absolutely adorable. Just strolling through the clear crisp air while checking out the scenery, markets and small shops was so much fun. We were so lucky with the weather too. Pete was like a giddy schoolboy with excitement from all the nature. During our exploration of the town and surrounding neighborhoods, Alana and I decided to buy matching oversized Swiss Christmas sweaters.

Image

Image

In the spirit of our new purchase, we girls dressed in Christmas sweaters and Pete in flannel for our night out for traditional Swiss cheese fondue. Talk about an expensive dinner, but totally worth it. We even went all out and splurged for some chocolate fondue for dessert. Hey…you’re only in Switzerland once! (Actually I hope that’s not the case.)

Image

Our next day in Interlaken was our “extreme activity day”. We started off with some home cooked eggs, and a breakfast overlooking the nice views from our hostel balcony. Pete left the pack for some guy time on a snowboarding trip, and we girls headed to the top of the mountain in a van of hilarious Swiss men to go paragliding!

Image

Image

Image

My paragliding instructor was awesome. Basically, they strap you in… and then you both run and jump off a mountain. Once you jump, you catch the wind and soar high through the Alps like a bird. It’s an unreal feeling, and not to mention absolutely breathtaking. Towards the end my instructor even did some cool flips and tricks with me to add to the excitement.

Image

Image

After a long day… Aleah, Alana and I turned up the jazz music and cooked a delicious meal of homemade cheese sauce and Gnocchi with some veggies in our hostel kitchen. Aleah even taught me a trick for chopping garlic! I knew I could count on my Italian roommate for something.

Image

After a great time in Interlaken, it was time to head back to our one true love: Copenhagen. After a ten-day trip we were all ready to return to our comfortable life back with the Danes and the rest of our amazing friends in Hillerød.

Image

Image

I had such a great time traveling with Albecpeta. I can’t believe how close we all have become after this short semester abroad. I feel like I’ve known them forever! It still hasn’t quite hit me that we only have around three weeks left together. I’ve been so lucky to have met them here in Denmark…they’ve made my study abroad experience one I’ll never forget. Not quite sure what life back at home is going to be like without us all together. Guess we will have to keep up with the tradition and travel around the US together next! (Ok…Max you’re invited too)

2 thoughts on “Cozy Christmas Sweaters

  1. Becca, I am so glad your trip abroad has been everything you dreamed and even more. Jody spent the winter in Interlaken in 1996 or 97. You two will have a lot to talk about. Thnaks for sharing with us more home bound people.

    Have a glorius Thanksgiving whereever in the world you are!!

    Love
    Aunt Betty

  2. Becca, I am so glad your trip abroad has been everything you dreamed and even more. Jody spend the winter in Interlaken in 1996 or 97. You two will have a lot to talk about. Thanks for sharing with us more home bound people. Have a glorius Thanksgiving whereever in the world you are. We will be thinking of you and missing you at the Thanksgiving table. Love, Aunt Betty and Uncle Jerry

Leave a Reply

